Guest Post: Feminism and Atheism, United in So Many Ways


I find this piece extremely interesting and illuminating, and indeed it supports a credo that I have always maintained, that belief is only made stronger by constant questioning. Atheism is a counter culture and within it is several countercultures. Whatever it is you believe in, there is no real reason for blind obedience. Hornbeck’s lesson is that No matter what you are, theist , atheist, feminist, realist, you can always be a better person.

hessianwithteeth

This is a guest post written by out friend HJ Hornbeck:

In some ways, I was a feminist first: introduced to the topic in my teens, I did an assessment and was deluged by evidence of sexism around me. While I’ve never believed in any god at any moment of my life, in contrast, I didn’t think anyone else did either. I honestly didn’t believe in theists until my 20’s, when I encountered my first passionate believer. The experience rattled me, and I was soon browsing the online atheist community trying to figure out what else I’d missed.

What led me to abandon read-only mode, though, was Elevatorgate. It was obvious the atheist/skeptic community was woefully ignorant of feminist issues, so I rolled up my sleeves and hit the feminist books.

Back in those salad days, I viewed the two topics as wildly different. As kept reading and thinking…

View original post 669 more words

Leave a Reply

